Almond Cookies

 

P1060647

I love almond flavor cookies. I think my love for them developed, as a kid at Christmas time; surrounded by Italian cookies made by my Italian grandmother and Italian great grandmother. Oh, I really miss them (my grandmothers) 😦

Carrying on with some tradition, my mother made many types of cookies including almond cookies with icing, pizzelles, Italian sugar cookies, annisette sponge cookies. The list goes on.

I consider myself the healthy Italian now. I convert like every recipe I find.

I found a recipe on amourfoud.blogspot.com for almond cookies and liked the ingredient list. I just had to alter it though. I don’t like sugar, in general. It’s a rare occasion when I bake with anything but coconut sugar or sucanat. This one called for a little normalcy though. I reduced the sugar, added a little fructose, because of it’s fine texture, and added stevia to make up the remaining needed sweetness.

I also bake nut-based cookies on a lower temperature to preserve the delicate oils in the nuts as much as possible.

I hardly eve use confectioner’s sugar either, so this is another rare occasion. You can try, as I do, to mix in a little tapioca flour to make up a little of the bulk. you could also use more tapioca flour and a little stevia too, but be careful not to use too much as it is incredibly sweet.

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/3 cups almond meal
  • 1/2 cup organic evaporated  cane juice
  • 2 tablespoons fructose
  • 1 tablespoon stevia powder
  • 3 large egg whites (* you can beat these until soft peaks form; see note)
  • Grated zest of 1 organic orange
  • 2 teaspoons almond extract
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1 tablespoons confectioners’ sugar
  • 1/2 tablespoon tapioca flour (optional)

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Combine the almond meal, sugar, fructose, stevia, egg whites, orange zest, and almond extract in a bowl, stirring well.  Place the almonds in a separate bowl.  Roll a tablespoon of the mixture into a rough ball, then roll the ball in the almonds.  Using your thumb and forefinger, and middle finger, pinch the ball into a sort of pyramid shape.  Place on the baking sheet and repeat with the remaining dough.

Bake the cookies for 15-17 minutes, until lightly browned.Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

Mix the confectioner’s sugar with the tapioca flour in a small bowl.

Let cool, then dust with confectioners’ sugar mixture using a small fine mesh strainer.  You can store the cookies in an airtight container. Makes 2 dozen cookies.

  • For  more classic amaretti, beat egg whites until soft-stiff peaks form; fold into almond mixture. Spoon batter by tablespoonful onto baking sheet; sprinkle with almonds. Bake for 17 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack.
About Fit, Healthy, Happy Home

I now more than ever dedicate all that I do to the Lord and His purposes. As a trainer and natural foods consultant, mother of 3 and wife to an anointed husband, My blog reflects my walk with God and what He gave us, and how to prepare foods the best way possible, and my desire to get others in shape.
This entry was posted in Desserts/ Healthy Treats, Gluten-free and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

