Beet Pink Cream Cheese-Coconut Frosting

Beet-colored frosting fit for a baby or anyon

I’m a little tired of re-inventing the wheel when it comes to needing a recipe for something. It has to be healthy with as lttle refined ingredients as possible.  In this case, I needed to accomodate my baby who’s turning one.

One of my pet peeves is to use just any recipe or God-forbid, go to the store and buy pre-made artificial stuff.

In regards to frosting, i have always used cashews with either agave nectar or dates, depending on what kind I make. I like to go raw as much as possible.  For my baby. I did not want to give her nuts just yet, so I’m going with cream cheese and coconut.  I’m not big on dairy, but a little won’t hurt I suppose. So I gathered up cream cheese, coconut oil, for stablilty, and an alternative to powdered sugar—which i swear to never use.

For the Frosting:

8 ounces organic cream cheese, at room temperature

1/4 cup organic pasture butter or additional cream cheese, at room temperature

1/2 cup extra virgin coconut oil, liquid

________

1/4 cup raw sugar

1/4 cup organic shredded coconut

________

1 tablespoon agave nectar

1/2-3/4 teaspoon beet juice (if you have a juicer, this is a cinch. If not, put a couple slices of beet into the frosting and stir until desired color is achieved, then remove the beets)

Directions: Put the cream cheese and butter into your mixer bowl and beat until smooth. Beat in the coconut oil.

Put raw sugar and coconut into a bullet blender with the flat blade or food processor with metal blade. Process until fine. Add to the mixer bowl with the agave nectar, and the beet juice; alter the color to your liking.

Put frosting into the refrigerator to firm up.

Once the frosting is chilled, it takes on a nice thick texture, ready to be scooped into your piping bag.

There you have it.  Scoop frosing into a piping bag to decorate or spread onto cupcakes or cake with a spatula. It may be necessary to return the frosting  to the fridge to continue. The frosting gets soft if it sits too long.

I frosted 15 cupcakes with this amount, but I did not go heavy on each cupcake as you can see.  Needless to say, the baby ate the whole cupcake!

Banana cupcakes decorated with coconnut cream cheese frosting and natural raspberry sugar sprinkles

About Fit, Healthy, Happy Home

I now more than ever dedicate all that I do to the Lord and His purposes. As a trainer and natural foods consultant, mother of 3 and wife to an anointed husband, My blog reflects my walk with God and what He gave us, and how to prepare foods the best way possible, and my desire to get others in shape.
This entry was posted in Healthy, Happy Food and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

