Happy Healthy Olive Oil

I’m Italian, I slather olive oil on my skin, and use it in my salad, soups, sauces, pasta dishes, and all other delicious cuisines from Mexican to Mediterranean. The recent uproar about olive oil and its questionable production and labeling lead me to do some studying. After all we all want quality,don’t we?

So because I do NOT live in Italy (boo hoo), do NOT possess an olive grove (boo hoo) and have NO choice but to purchase my olive oil from a grocery store, I had to  find out more….

Here’s part of my studies:

http://www.living-foods.com/articles/oliveoil.html

I’ve tried many brands of olive oil, both organic and non-organic. I will often trade up organic non-cold pressed olive oil for first cold pressed non-organic olive oil. Low grade or highly processed oils are not worth the money or the risk to your health.  If oil doesn’t feel right in my mouth and has even a slight stale flavor (you know what I’m talking about), I will discard it, and not even use it for slathering.

When searching for a quality oil, I look for those bottled in dark-colored glass since light is a denaturing factor as well as air and warmth. That said, keep the olive oil well sealed in a cool, dark place–definitely not over your stove top. A long time ago, before my smartness kicked in, I stored mine in a cabinet above my stove, and my new bottle of Trader Joe’s olive oil went rancid pretty quickly. Rancid oils, nuts, and seeds or grains containing fat can go rancid when not stored properly and are very bad for our cells. Carcinogens increase with free radical development and exposure. (I could get into the fact that heating oils also creates free radicals and should be done only with heat tolerant oils…another reason to stay away from fried foods). Fresh olive oil actually is a preventative against certain cancers, such as breast cancer as well as protective against cardiovascular diseases.

The best olive oil, aside from squeezing the oil right from the olives into your mouth, would be unfiltered, organic first cold-pressed, sold in dark bottles, and not ordered in large amount by any distributor. If there are other main factors I’m missing, please fill me in.

If you now know that olive oil is good for you, but maybe not sure of the details.  Here is part of the story from whfoods:

  • Mediterranean Diet studies have long associated olive oil intake with decreased risk of heart disease. However, a recent group of studies has provided us with a fascinating explanation of olive oil’s cardioprotective effect. One of the key polyphenols in olive oil—hydroxytyrosol (HT)—helps protect the cells that line our blood vessels from being damaged by overly reactive oxygen molecules. HT helps protect the blood vessel cells by triggering changes at a genetic level. The genetic changes triggered by HT help the blood vessel cells to enhance their antioxidant defense system. In other words, olive oil supports our blood vessels not only by providing antioxidants like like vitamin E and beta-carotene. Olive oil also provides our blood vessels with unique molecules like HT that actually work at a genetic level to help the cellular walls of the blood vessels remain strong.

Back to what to get!

I’m letting you in on this cool brand of olive oil. I have not yet seen it in stores, but I’m going to look for it next time I’m at Whole Foods Market

Click on the picture to go to the website where you can read about the olive oil and their quest for making sure you receive a quality product if purchased in  the United States. Their bottles must have their seal of approval.

A brand of olive oil, that is not to expensive and of good quality is Derekoy. It is considered special reserve (I hope this is true); it is organic and first cold pressed.

This is the kind I currently slather myself with:

I enjoy the fruity non-off tasting feel in my mouth

Here is another quality olive oil, about $20/bottle:

http://www.zeytinim.com/products.aspx?type=zy&type2=sl

The queen of Derekoy:

Enjoy and Blessings!

 

Charlene Ryan

About Fit, Healthy, Happy Home

I now more than ever dedicate all that I do to the Lord and His purposes. As a trainer and natural foods consultant, mother of 3 and wife to an anointed husband, My blog reflects my walk with God and what He gave us, and how to prepare foods the best way possible, and my desire to get others in shape.
This entry was posted in Health Help, Lunch & Dinner, Raw Foods and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

