Mini Caramel Apple Pies | A blog reblog

Mini Caramel Apple Pies | (view original version by clicking here) scroll down for my rendition…

I love fit food, hence the name of my blog. So naturally, I gravitate to others’ blogs with fun fit food. I visit Amy Layne’s blog once in a while and have tried several of her recipes. They are much the way I prepare food from day to day, so it is like looking at my own recipes. Here is a great one for fall using a buckwheat crust (my alteration) that I love, an apples, which, I love, and a sauce, which, again—i love.

SHARING IS GOOD.

This is my twist on this yummy recipe:

P1030082

Nourish you with a buckwheat and oat crust, apple filling and a creamy cashew caramel drizzle.

Amy uses a caramel sauce with almond butter, coconut oil, dates, sea salt and vanilla while mine uses cashews, maple syrup, molasses, coconut milk, dates (as an option) and maple syrup, agave nectar or barley malt.

Amy’s crust calls mainly for oats and nuts while mine uses less nuts and calls for buckwheat.

The apple filling I followed pretty much to a T. I hope you enjoy the contrast and adjustments. Overall, I promote healthy snacking!

The recipe:

Filling:

  • 4-5 apples (medium to large)
  • 2 teaspoons lemon juice
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 3 tablespoons agave nectar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon coconut Oil

Crust:

  • 1-1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup raw buckwheat groats (presoaking is best, but not essential ((Do it if it’s something you’re already into)) : soak 6 hours, rinse and dry in a warm oven or dehydrator)
  • 1 cup pecans and/or walnuts, lightly toasted (again, presoaking is best; soak 6 hours then dehydrate)
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt or Desert salt (Sunfood)
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin coconut oil

Caramel Drizzle:

  • 1/2 cup cashews (soak 1-2 hours)
  • 3 large pitted dates (Medjool are best)(soak 1 hour or longer if dates aren’t soft)
  • 1 teaspoon molasses
  • 4 tablespoons coconut milk
  • 2-3 tablespoons maple syrup
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  2. Coat a 12-cup muffin pan with cooking spray (I like Trader Joe’s Coconut oil spray)
  3. Peel the apples and slice and chop them into small bits (i cut each slice into about 3 pieces)
  4. Put apples and coconut oil into a saucepan set over medium heat.
  5. Add remaining filling ingredients and cook for 7 minutes, stirring a few times. Remove from heat.
  6. Put all crust ingredients into a food processor. Pulse until uniform and can be pressed into shape with out excess crumbs falling.
  7. Press into prepared muffin tin on the bottom and up the sides of cups.
  8. Fill crusts with apples. Bake for 17 minutes. Cool slightly or to room temperature.
  9. Put all drizzle ingredients into a food processor; process until smooth. Add more liquid ingredients (either maple syrup or coconut milk) to make it drizzle-able for you. I transfer mine to an old agave nectar bottle that I kept for the sake of the squeeze bottle and drizzle-tip. Refrigerate any unused portions. Save for ice cream, cookies or pancakes.
  10. Once pies have cooled somewhat, squeeze topping over the pies in a decorative fashion. Enjoy.

P1030085

About Fit, Healthy, Happy Home

I now more than ever dedicate all that I do to the Lord and His purposes. As a trainer and natural foods consultant, mother of 3 and wife to an anointed husband, My blog reflects my walk with God and what He gave us, and how to prepare foods the best way possible, and my desire to get others in shape.
This entry was posted in Breakfasts, dairy-free, Desserts/ Healthy Treats, Gluten-free, Raw Foods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

