Easy Banana Millet Pancakes with Walnuts |total time:20 minutes

 

Banana Millet Pancakes with Walnuts

Banana Millet Pancakes with Walnuts

Do you ever wish you had pancakes all made; ready to eat–like someone has been up for an hour making them for you?

Well, so have I, so I threw this recipe together using ingredients I love, and it only took 15-20 minutes start to finish.No store-bought mixes and no hassle either.

Try out my gluten-free flour mix. I don’t need gluten free flour, but I like the lightness of it while still being whole grain. It is primarily brown rice flour with tapioca flour and coconut flour also. Click on the link below. Another option is Bob Red MIlls Gluten free flour mix which isn’t bad  but not as flavorful.

Here you go:

  • 1 cup millet flour
  • 1 cup gluten-free flour mix (see my recipe on my other site or use a store bought mixture)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 cup buttermilk powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon fenugreek (optional)
  • 1 tablespoon milled flax seed (optional)
  • 1-1/2 cups water
  • 1/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons egg whites (or whites from 2 eggs)
  • 1 teaspoon bourbon vanilla extract
  • 1 banana (or substitute any fresh fruit or chocolate or carob chips)
  • Organic ghee
  • Maple syrup

To make it seem easier, I’m going to instruct you casually:

So, throw the flours and leveners into a bowl with the buttermilk powder and optional ingredients. Stir it up a bit. Add the water, egg whites and vanilla. Mix until well-combined. Batter will thicken a little as it sits, so heat up your griddle or pan while this is happening. Slice up the banana right into the bowl and then stir it in. Note: I do a criss-cross pattern on the banana with my paring knife and slice as I go continuing with the criss-cross pattern. This eliminates the need for a chopping board or a separate bowl for mashing banana in.

Grab a silicone spatula and dip it into the ghee. Spread onto the hot pan to lightly coat.

Pour batter into little circles whatever size you like. Once bubbles appear, flip and cook for another 30 seconds or so.

Sprinkle pancakes with chopped or whole walnuts. Top with a little real maple syrup.Makes 16 pancakes

Health note: To reduce sugar and get an omega boost, combine flax seed oil with maple syrup  in a 1:1 ratio. It is nutritious and delicious, except do not do this for little ones.  Enjoy!

P1060202

P1060198

P1060201

About Fit, Healthy, Happy Home

I now more than ever dedicate all that I do to the Lord and His purposes. As a trainer and natural foods consultant, mother of 3 and wife to an anointed husband, My blog reflects my walk with God and what He gave us, and how to prepare foods the best way possible, and my desire to get others in shape.
This entry was posted in Breakfasts, Gluten-free, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

