Chili-Lime Black Bean Hummus

More delicious than it sounds, and dare I say, better than traditional hummus?black bean hummus

It’s a new day to be thankful.

A new day to create.

A new day to use up what’s in the fridge.

A new day for a new taste.

What do I have to use up??  You guessed it: Black Beans.

What did I create? yummy hummus!

Black Bean Talk

Almost every time I soak and cook a 1-pound bag of black beans all I really have on my mind to make black bean brownies. I could literally make a double batch with all those beans, but then I figured I should do something savory with them.

Quite honestly, my cravings are more geared towards chocolate and when it came time to use up the beans from a few days ago, I, with will power, stopped myself from grabbing the cocoa powder. I mean the black beans were already in the food processor!

What would you do?

Well I, instead of cocoa powder, grabbed cumin, cayenne, and tahini.

There are many options for this hummus. you can substitute for re fried beans in quesadillas, you can spread it on an avocado and turkey sandwich, use it as dip, or as a topping for rice along with some veggies.

Whatever you do, don’t grab the cocoa powder.

If you do however want to check out a black bean brownie recipe, try this one..

P1070057

 

 

Chili-Lime Black Bean Hummus

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups cooked black beans
  • 1 clove garlic, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 1/3 cup water
  • Juice of 1 lime (or half lime if it is big, or to taste)
  • 2 tablespoon sesame tahini
  • 1 tablespoon avocado oil or extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon chili powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon smoked paprika, plus more for top
  • 1/2 teaspoon sea salt ( I use Redmond Real Salt) (or kosher salt for less sodium)
  • Dash cayenne pepper
  • 1 (4-ounce) can diced chilies, divided

Directions:

Put black beans and garlic in food processor and process for a minute, scraping down sides midway through. Add remaining ingredients except chilies. Process until smooth, scraping down sides as needed for consistency. Pulse in half the chilies, leaving some chunks.

Transfer hummus to a serving bowl. Spoon a little or all of the reserved chilies and sift some paprika over the top. Serve with veggies or healthy nachos (What I mean by healthy is low or no salt, and preferably organic and baked not fried)

P1070058

P1070060

P1070059

 

About Fit, Healthy, Happy Home

I now more than ever dedicate all that I do to the Lord and His purposes. As a trainer and natural foods consultant, mother of 3 and wife to an anointed husband, My blog reflects my walk with God and what He gave us, and how to prepare foods the best way possible, and my desire to get others in shape.
This entry was posted in dairy-free, Dips & Dressings, Lunch & Dinner, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

