Humility

James 4:6 

But He gives more grace. Therefore it says, “God opposes the proud, but gives grace to the humble.”

In the past I tried to exalt myself whether in fitness, or modeling, or whatever, but it all led to naught…to nothing! Pride is a character trait we can do without.

Think about this: If you take away all the things you think you are, do you really have anything going for you? Take Heart, If God is working through you, He will exalt you! All things good come from God!

1 Peter 5:6 

Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time he may exalt you,

Yeah, it’s best to let God do the exalting.

Those that are shy or introverted  aren’t  necessarily free of pride. In fact, it is quite prideful to be that way because it shows a lack of trust that God can work through you. Let us do what God’s Word says in spite of ourselves. It is not about us.  All good things come from God.

As for me, I’ve found out that I need to come before the Lord and humble myself. Simply praying isn’t enough.  There is a grace blockage when we have pride, so the prayers we pray aren’t getting the answers they could be getting if we were humble. God still hears and by His grace He leads the thirsty to water and the one who seeks finds. My prayers of “Lord heal me”, and “Lord help us”, turned into, Lord, thank you for what you’ve done already in my life and Lord, show me where my hindrances are. These are truly humble prayers that came from digging into God’s Word. I heard Jon Courson explain the seemingly unanswered prayer or what we consider a “no” if the answer doesn’t come our way, that our prayers grow, they change over time. God’s ways, being higher than our ways, give us the exceeding abundantly above all we could ask or think. Our original prayer, when we look back at it, seems vain. But God did the greater thing for you. Has this happened to you? I’m almost sure it has.

Learning how to pray really seems to grow as we walk holy and depend on God and not ourselves. So God answered my prayer and I believe His grace is falling at a greater amount on me and my family. He loves us so much. He’s trying to get His promises to us. We have to choose to draw close to the Lord and humble ourselves realizing we can’t do anything apart from Him.

Colossians 3:12 

Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience,

While meditating on this, I realize that God often uses those that don’t have anything going for them. This is so that man’s eye will not be on those people but will see that the work that God is doing in them and through them is real and authentic.

God has taken  Andrew Wommack   a used-to-be introvert and turned him into someone who preaches in front of hundreds and thousands of people at a time and is on live TV broadcasts. This is because Andrew chose to believe the Word of God above his pride and circumstances, and humble himself and do what God’s Word said to do: preach the gospel, heal the sick, feed the poor.

This is how we can do all things through Christ. It is by His grace—which He gives more of when we’re humble.

1 Peter 5:5 

Likewise, you who are younger, be subject to the elders. Clothe yourselves, all of you, with humility toward one another, for “God opposes the proud but gives grace to the humble.”

Luke 14:11 

For everyone who exalts himself will be humbled, and he who humbles himself will be exalted.”

Proverbs 18:12 

Before destruction a man’s heart is haughty, but humility comes before honor.

2 Corinthians 11:30 

If I must boast, I will boast of the things that show my weakness.

Psalm 147:6 

The Lord lifts up the humble; he casts the wicked to the ground.

Sin is wickedness. Sinners are Wicked. Turn from sin and walk hold and humbly with your God:

Micah 6:8 

He has told you, O man, what is good; and what does the Lord require of you but to do justice, and to love kindness, and to walk humbly with your God?

Humble yourself before the Lord and He will lift you up.

And praise Jesus for all He has done. The work of the cross. It is finished. It is finished in your life too. He paid the price for your sin. Salvation is an act of humbleness, saying” I am a sinner and I need Jesus to be my savior. Come into my life Lord. I receive you as my Savior today. ”

Romans 10:9 

Because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved.

Ephesians 2:8-9 

For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.

Too-Humble Pie.

Too-Humble Pie.

Blessing to all who have read this. Much love.

–Charlene Ryan

About Fit, Healthy, Happy Home

I now more than ever dedicate all that I do to the Lord and His purposes. As a trainer and natural foods consultant, mother of 3 and wife to an anointed husband, My blog reflects my walk with God and what He gave us, and how to prepare foods the best way possible, and my desire to get others in shape.
This entry was posted in Inspired Writings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

