The Active Restful Home

rest

Our home is our place of rest and hopefully the place you love to go to after a hard day and to spend time with your family.

I’ve often found it to be a struggle to relax at home. If you’re like me, you’re thinking about the next thing to be done and can get easily bothered by undone jobs, like an un-swept floor, that finger-print laden window, the few dishes left in the sink, and the e-mail list that is a mile long.

I now try to re-think what my home is about. It is the place where I’m raising my children, the place where we actually all dwell together. It’s not a job-laden jail. My kids are going to remember the laughs, the chores which helped get them on the right path to good work ethics;they’ll remember the Bible studies in the living room. I know they’ll also think about their valuable Ipod time (I’m refraining from further expounding on this; you parents understand I’m sure) and playing out in the neighborhood.

As I am going deeper with my relationship with the Lord, I know that the quiet times are when I can hear Him speaking to me the most. Developing that time supernaturally brings you to a place of contentment and ability to get the job done without stress. Now, understand me, I don’t have a lot of “quiet” in my house right now. My four-year old is quite active and with schedules that are a bit tough at times, the peace has to be realized inside. With that peace comes a quiet of the rushing thoughts and stresses and anxieties. See, fixing our eyes on the Lord hushes up the attacks of the enemy.

Psalm 127:2

It is in vain that you rise up early and go late to rest, eating the bread of anxious toil; for he gives to his beloved sleep.

I’d like to think of home as a place to build relationships, not only with my family, but    with God. After all the way we love others is directly related to loving God.

1 John 4:19-21

We love because he first loved us. If anyone says, “I love God,” and hates his brother, he is a liar; for he who does not love his brother whom he has seen cannot love God whom he has not seen. And this commandment we have from him: whoever loves God must also love his brother.

A greater rest is one that comes from trusting in God. If we’re not trusting , we’re surely anxiously just aimlessly doing things, thinking it is by our own power that success comes, but we fail every time.

The Israelites didn’t enter into the rest God required and this hurt them greatly. It took them 40 years to enter the promise land when it could’ve been a quick trip. When we consider that all the promises of God in Him are yea and amen, we should be oh so eager to enter that rest.

Hebrews 4:1-11

Therefore, while the promise of entering his rest still stands, let us fear lest any of you should seem to have failed to reach it. For good news came to us just as to them, but the message they heard did not benefit them, because they were not united by faith with those who listened.[a] For we who have believed enter that rest, as he has said,

“As I swore in my wrath,
‘They shall not enter my rest,’”

although his works were finished from the foundation of the world. For he has somewhere spoken of the seventh day in this way: “And God rested on the seventh day from all his works.” And again in this passage he said,

“They shall not enter my rest.”

Since therefore it remains for some to enter it, and those who formerly received the good news failed to enter because of disobedience, again he appoints a certain day, “Today,” saying through David so long afterward, in the words already quoted,

“Today, if you hear his voice,
do not harden your hearts.”

For if Joshua had given them rest, God[b] would not have spoken of another day later on. So then, there remains a Sabbath rest for the people of God, 10 for whoever has entered God’s rest has also rested from his works as God did from his.

11 Let us therefore strive to enter that rest, so that no one may fall by the same sort of disobedience. 12 For the word of God is living and active, sharper than any two-edged sword, piercing to the division of soul and of spirit, of joints and of marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart. 13 And no creature is hidden from his sight, but all are naked and exposed to the eyes of him to whom we must give account.

Notice again in verse 6 .Paul says, “Today, if you hear his voice, do not harden your hearts.”  Hardening our hearts leads to forsaking God’s laws and missing out on the promise. Let’s discover the “new creation” that we are every day by renewing our minds and not even for a moment allowing ourselves to get stuck in the same mindset we’ve been accustomed to. Praise Jesus for all He has done and the finished work of the cross.

I’ll end this with a prayer:

Lord, as I fix my attention on you, please give me the direction I need each day and fill me with the peace that comes from casting my cares on you and trusting in you. I do this now so that I can enter the rest you so desire for me and thank you that you’re watching over your Word to perform it in my life. Thank you for your precious promises. Enable me God to do Kingdom work, while putting myself aside. Amen.

-CR

excerpts from the Bible from http://www.Biblegateway.com

 

 

About Fit, Healthy, Happy Home

I now more than ever dedicate all that I do to the Lord and His purposes. As a trainer and natural foods consultant, mother of 3 and wife to an anointed husband, My blog reflects my walk with God and what He gave us, and how to prepare foods the best way possible, and my desire to get others in shape.
This entry was posted in Inspired Writings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

