Healthy Grocery Shopping 101

 

healthy grocery shopping

This is an arranged pile of healthy foods bought at Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods Market today. Although my bill was pretty expensive, the fact that I go to these stores only once per month, it is expected. If these stores were nearer to me, I think I wouldn’t buy as much.  Not all foods are shown, but this is generally what I buy in a week. As you look, you’ll see brown rice, sweet potatoes, frozen organic peas and corn, organic zucchini, a pepper, a papaya, bananas, a mango, frozen organic raspberries, frozen pineapple, fresh pineapple, red lentils and more.  Also bought was organic yogurts, kefir, fruit spread, organic peanut butter (shown, but hard to see), grass fed beef (shown, but hard to see also), organic cilantro, coconut milk, cage-free eggs, sprouted grain bread, whole wheat couscous, lentils, organic oats, raw cheddar, whole wheat tortillas, corn (non-GMO) tortillas, fresh salsa, and natural colored cherries in a jar (for my son’s ice cream cake)

When I have to go to a regular grocery store, I still buy much of the same products. Last week I bought fresh organic strawberries, this week it was frozen strawberries–either one, great for smoothies. The fresh ones of course have many more uses. Brussels sprouts are in season and I’ve been buying them weekly, steaming them and making raw slaw (recipe on my blog). The almonds and shredded coconut, I wait until I take this once-a-month trip to buy them as Trader Joe’s is a bit more cost effective for such things. Frozen peas and corn are great quick foods for my kids and literally are great just defrosted and added to salads.

It takes practice to be mindful. Maintain your focus, don’t go to the store hungry, and think carefully about your purchases. 

Choose organic whenever possible. Here are the top produce items studies have shown to be high in pesticide residue: Tomatoes (also most non-organic tomatoes are genetically modified–so sad!), celery, bell peppers, cucumbers, stone fruit(apricots, nectarines, etc.), cherries, grapes, strawberries, raspberries, blackberries, spinach, summer squash, apples, and pears.  Think that if a food is high in water content and/or had little or no skin, then it is probably contaminated. In addition, purchase organic meat, dairy, peanuts, wheat, oats, beans and legumes when you can.

As for other groceries, stick with the idea that your food should be as close to the natural state as possible. So that Twinkie has to go! Instead choose some delicious coconut ice cream, buy your self some corn flour and make some sweet corn bread with all the basics like eggs, minimally refined sugar such as coconut sugar, top with coconut ice cream and fresh strawberries!

When buying beverages, check out the label to be sure there is no added sugar.

Whole grains are intact with germ and bran. This includes the common grains like wheat, corn and oat. If you choose some other grains such as millet, quinoa, amaranth or teff, you will be buying the whole grain. I have not seen refined or polished versions of these. yet. These are great additions to your diet to as they provide essential amino acids necessary for tissue repair.

Comment below to add to my tips if you like. God bless you!

When you go into my local Whole Foods Market and you’re in the restroom, when you look in the mirror, this is what you read on the wall behind you: “Healthy Looks Good On You!”

 

About Fit, Healthy, Happy Home

I now more than ever dedicate all that I do to the Lord and His purposes. As a trainer and natural foods consultant, mother of 3 and wife to an anointed husband, My blog reflects my walk with God and what He gave us, and how to prepare foods the best way possible, and my desire to get others in shape.
This entry was posted in Baby Food, Breakfasts, dairy-free, Desserts/ Healthy Treats, Food products/Supplements I use, Fuel for Fitness/Fitness Talk, Gluten-free, Inspired Writings, Lunch & Dinner, Raw Foods and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Healthy Grocery Shopping 101

  1. Marion says:

    I am always grateful for these reminders, thank you

Leave a Reply

