The Quest for a Peanut Butter Vessel

Image

If you’re like me, you like rice cakes or maybe crackers with peanut butter—oh, but not for the rice cake; it’s all about the peanut butter (sometimes almond butter too).

Recently, , i think my daughter might have thought me to be crazy. I was looking around the kitchen for something to put pb on. Being a health nut doesn’t allow me to reach for anything unhealthy to accomplish this, nor do I have anything unhealthy to reach for except maybe taking my additction to the extreme and slathering penut butter on an entire Green & Blacks organic Maya Gold chocolate bar.

You can take this message as a boat load of ideas, but I’d rather you consider it a confession of nut butter madness.

I sometimes take a big chunk of pb out of the jar and put it into a bowl with whatever will stick to it (which is anything), be it buckwheat groats, raisins, grapenuts, shredded coconut (my favorite), and even greek yogurt.  Carrot sticks make nice little pb dippers, like litle space ships flying down into the jar capturing the pb, saving it from being wasted. Celery is an old standby, of course.

Ok, so not to overdo peanut butter, but you get my gist? I love peanut butter. You can too. It’s okay. Choose organic; stir it yourself with a knife that’s not sharp so  you can lick it after.

I’m not one to look to reduce calories; i look to increase them, so nut butters are a great way. Explore the world of nuts. I eat all kinds, and all week long.  They provide good nutrition. Do not overdo any one kind though. In general, take care to make them more digestible:

     Soak nuts overnight and lightly toast or dehydrate them in the morning. Soak seeds for 1-2 hours, then do the    same for them. You can even sprout many of them for even better health benefits. Go nuts!

About Fit, Healthy, Happy Home

I now more than ever dedicate all that I do to the Lord and His purposes. As a trainer and natural foods consultant, mother of 3 and wife to an anointed husband, My blog reflects my walk with God and what He gave us, and how to prepare foods the best way possible, and my desire to get others in shape.
This entry was posted in Healthy, Happy Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

