Change Your Habits One by One: This Week: Stop late night binges.

A Common downfall of many Americans, I have discovered, is eating late at night.

Our bodies use nighttime sleep as a time to heal and repair. There is much healing to do–daily and nightly through eating nutritious, antioxidant rich foods. But,  a full tummy at night means that your body is primarily digesting food, leading to poor quality sleep and very slow healing.  Most likely when you eat before bed, you will wake up tired, maybe even with blood-shot eyes. I’m not about to go in-depth about food combining, but binge eating most likely isn’t thought through as far as what to eat together and what not to, so the nighttime is even worse for you when it involves bingeing.

If you wonder why you cannot lose weight, check your nightly habits. Do you starve yourself all day and eat mostly at night? Was your dinner insufficient, leaving you wanting more food only an hour later? Maybe you eat a good meal, but crave sweets or salty foods afterward.

I have to admit there are nights when I have food a little while before bed, but it is usually following a day where my workout was intense, so my metabolism is screaming. It is, however, very rare for me to binge on whatever is accessible. I have brought my habits to the point where I will not eat  junk food. so I do not have it in my home.  If I was to go overboard at all, it would only be with my own healthy creations. Still overeating is not a healthy habit. It taxes the body greatly.

So how do you break this habit to the point of really, not waning to eat late anymore? First, realize the health benefits, and not just the weight loss; I mean better digestion, and a “glow” from allowing your body to heal.

Second, Plan your meals full of fiber from whole vegetables, grains, quality protein foods such as grass-fed beef, wild fish, or alternative proteins like tofu, lentils, beans, and seed-like grains such as quinoa, millet, and teff; healthy fats, from olive oil, avocados, omega-3 eggs and infusions of nuts and seeds which are very satisfying. Avoid while breads, white rice, white wheat pastas, and boring salads with no healthy fats…this will not help you lose weight. The incorporation of complex carbohydrates to your meals will thwart sugar cravings. in addition, once you get off sugar for  week or so, you will not crave it anymore unless you stop following good eating habits at every meal.

Third, Just do it!— three nights in a row and see how you feel. This habit will, I believe, grow on you.

Let me know how  you do!

To initiate

About Fit, Healthy, Happy Home

I now more than ever dedicate all that I do to the Lord and His purposes. As a trainer and natural foods consultant, mother of 3 and wife to an anointed husband, My blog reflects my walk with God and what He gave us, and how to prepare foods the best way possible, and my desire to get others in shape.
This entry was posted in Healthy, Happy Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

